Posted by: Kim | October 3, 2007

We have plans…

After an exhausting all day trip to L’ville, we now have definite plans.  I will be having a bilateral (double) mastectomy with reconstruction via tram flaps (google it if you need more info).  I am scheduled for Thursday, October 25th and will be going up the day before for lab work and such.  Probably looking at about a 4 or 5 day stay in the hospital (yuck) and then weekly visits back to the plastic surgon for several weeks after.  We got lots of info today and I am still processing everything.  I am relieved that we have plans but having it actually scheduled is doing a number on my nerves.  The surgery will take approximately 8 hours…yes, I said 8 hours…that freaks me out to think about it.  Morphine pumps and drain tubes and incisions and scars and this and that…way too much to take in at one time.  I want to get it all over with but am scared to death at the same time…I think I am officially going crazy!!!

Blessings – K

Responses

  1. I won’t be the one to say you were already crazy. Nope, I would not be so crude.

    Darlin’…you are deserving some major freak out sessions.

    It’s nuts. As I said before, your only job is to just keep breathing–only requirement for you! Keep up the great work!

  2. I agree with Maggie. You’ve done exceptionally well throughout this whole ordeal. You do deserve some freak out time.

    Watching you handle this and keeping your focus on God has really been an inspiration to me.

    Ditto. Keep up the good work.

    BE

  3. Wow! What awesome things they are able to do in modern medicine.

    I am sorry that you have so much time to think about it, but it will pass quickly as will your recovery!

    Just stay busy and enjoy life as much as you can between now and then, so you can take a much needed break to recover!

  4. I’m actually glad they scheduled it fairly soon. It seems like every surgery unless it’s life and death is scheduled months in advance. I know this will be a major surgery and scary time. So, relax, rest, take in some fun and stay positive! Call on any of us if you need something.


Leave a Reply

Categories

