Posted by: Kim | December 16, 2007

A quick 5 minutes…

Saturday evening here…Grace is in the tub, Madison is at a friend’s house and Jeff is working.  I told Grace she had 5 more minutes to play in the tub and then it was time to get out.  She is already wrinkled up. 

Little things keep coming up that are a sad reminder of the reality of having cancer…even though I am a survivor.  Jeff and I were talking about giving blood the other day and I told him that I knew I couldn’t give because it was so soon after my surgery.  His reply was, “No, Kim…you can’t ever give again because you have had cancer.”  How’s that for a reality check?

Being a breast cancer survivor is not who I am as a whole but a small part of me.  My life forever changed the day I was told I had cancer BUT I do not want it to define me.  I am so much more…first and foremost a child of God, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a friend.  Some days it is just hard to “get away” from the whole cancer thing. 

Just so you know, recovery is still going great.  I don’t go back to the dr. until middle of Jan.  Sometime after the first of the year, I will also be making an appointment with an oncologist…not that I have to have treatments but just so it will be part of my medical record.

God really has blessed me through this whole ordeal and I know He is going to use me and my story in His time for His glory!!!!

K

Responses

  1. You are so right! Cancer does not define who you are, it just enriches your testimony. You left out one definitive word—-SISTER. My dear, sweet, precious sister who I love dearly. Cancer may have left its mark (never giving blood), but it has only made you more beautiful than you already were!!!
    CJ

  2. You may just be one of the main reasons God led us to 2BC. You are my inspiration! When I want to complain (which has been a lot lately) I think of you – honestly. You have been such a pillar of strength through your entire ordeal and never once did you let your faith falter! You’re beautiful, faithful, and just downright awesome! Cancer survivor is just one more thing to add to you list of incredible attributes. I love you!

  3. Amen sisters! Ask me about my blood giving experience sometime!

  4. I’m so glad you’re doing so well. So good to see you out and about. I haven’t got a chance to give blood for a few years–I’ve either been pregnant or nursing 🙂 I would like to do that though, but you can give back to the community in so many ways, not just giving blood. You could even even volunteer with the Red Cross–there’s an idea!

  5. You are definitely a survivor!!! Cancer does not have to define you, however your story will clearly be an inspiration to many. God will definitely use you to help someone! Who knows, you might already have.

  6. I came to this site because I heard by rumor I couldn’t give blood. I thought how stupid. I’m cancer free. Although my cancer was large and high grade it was not invasive.

    I had a lumpectomy last month. My nodes were neative and my margins clear. For this reason I am not getting radiation or taking med’s. I consider myself cancer free.

    Cancer diaganosis came and went within three weeks. I don’t feel as if I was afflicted with it, yet the dx changes the way doctors look at me. I hate that I can’t give blood, especially if my children needed it.
    You are right it doesn’t define us. We are so much more. It is one of many things that touch our lives in order for us to touch others. God bless, E


Leave a Reply

Categories

