Posted by: Kim | December 27, 2007

The day after Christmas

Oh my goodness…I am trying to hide out in the den while the kids are getting into trouble for running after their dad CLEARLY told them to stop.  Poor Madison just doesn’t know when to stop…even after she is in trouble.  Her mouth just won’t stop and the more she talks back, the longer she is in trouble.  She is a smart girl and you would think she would catch on sooner or later.   Right now she is debating with her dad what the difference is between running and “walking fast”.  She would argue with a tree stump (she gets that from her dad).

So…we had a great Christmas.  We did cookies for Santa and I managed to get the kids in bed around 10 pm on Christmas Eve.  We even got to sleep until after 7 am!!!!  Of course, the girls got WAY too much stuff but I believe they are actually beginning to fully understand what Christmas really is all about.  We had a conversation about Santa and presents this afternoon and it went something like this…

Madison:  “Mom, you said that there are some kids who don’t get presents for Christmas.  I thought Santa delivered presents to all kids.  What about some of the kids in other countries?”

Me:  “Well, many people in other countries and here in our country don’t believe in Jesus.  So, if they don’t believe in Jesus, there really isn’t any reason to celebrate Christmas.  Also, in some countries, even if you believe in Jesus, you aren’t allowed to freely serve/follow Him and that means no celebrating Christmas.  You both know that Christmas isn’t about the presents.”

Madison & Grace:  “Yes, we know…”

Me:  “It’s about celebrating the birth of Jesus and everything He has done for us and continues to do for us every single day.”

Madison:  “You know what mom…Jesus was the very first Christmas present.  Isn’t that cool???”

Me:  “I think it’s the coolest thing ever.”

There was more to the conversation but that was the main points.  I hope the things we talk about really sink in.  I hope they realize how amazing a gift we received when Jesus was born.  Even if there was no presents to open from “Santa”, the only gift that matters is the gift of Jesus Christ and it is available 365 days a year…not just on Dec. 25th.  We get the honor of opening that precious gift every single day of our lives.

I can’t talk about the miracle of Christmas without mentioning how thankful and full of praise I am at how Jesus has brought me through the past few months.  He has restored my health and that is my Christmas miracle.  Our lives could have taken such a different path…it could have been so much worse…I could be soooo sick…and Christmas would have been sooo hard.  Praise His Holy Name!!!!  This Christmas was truly a celebration for our family.  I didn’t want my cancer recovery to be something that was talked about over the holidays…even though it was a silent part of it.  I know everyone who was touched by my journey was celebrating with me…in quiet spirit and thoughts. 

I just love Christmas!!!!

K

Responses

  1. Great post. I love how you balance Santa and Jesus in your household. More people should be like that. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  2. Kim,
    Your child asked a very good question to you on kids in other countries at the same time your suggestion is great thank you sharing your Christmas celebrations and a I wish you a cool Happy New Year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

