Posted by: Kim | January 1, 2008

New Year’s Eve 2007

Wow…I can’t believe this is the end of another year.  It just doesn’t seem possible.  We have no plans for the evening as hubby will be working 12 hrs tomorrow…not sure that we would have stayed up even if he wasn’t working (or at least I wouldn’t have…ya’ll know how important my sleep is!!!).  So just a quiet night here.  I did cook supper…a yummy, easy pasta recipe.  Nothing fancy but we love it. 

As I think back over the past year, I just stand in awe at how God worked in my life.  The year began with us making the decision for me to quit work.  I had a job I enjoyed doing but just wasn’t happy with the environment I was in.  When we sat down to crunch numbers we realized that by the time we paid for child care, work clothes, eating out for lunch (I was terrible at taking my lunch…bad, I know), gas money, eating out for supper because I was never home to cook and we were on the go so much…well, my job wasn’t really bringing home that much extra income.  So…it was a happy, happy day when I was able to hand in my resignation.  I could have turned flips.  I was excited about being home for my family and taking care of the house and making sure things run smoothly. 

Little did I know what the end of the year would have in store for us.  Looking back, I see that me coming out of the work force was part of the preparation for the bump in the road called breast cancer.  I don’t know what I would have done if I had still been working.  I would have been so torn.

 To be continued…little eyes around…won’t leave the room so I can have privacy (that little stinker!!!)

KV

Responses

  1. God works like that sometimes. We can’t see it until we’re on the other side of the struggle though.

    I’m glad of my decision to stay home with my kids. If I hadn’t of been a SAHM, I wouldn’t have been able to travel to take care of my mom when she had lung cancer. I would have missed out on those weeks and months we had left together.


Leave a Reply

Categories

