Posted by: Kim | January 13, 2008

Is is ever ok to quit?

I just wonder…does there ever come a point when it’s ok to say enough is enough? I can’t bear to see you hurting or unhappy any longer so go ahead and quit.  Would you ever say those words to your children?  We try to teach about commitments and perseverance and doing things with a joyful heart BUT at what point does the hurting outweigh the benefits? 

I sure don’t know the answers…I am actually at a loss.  It’s been a tough day and right now my head and my heart just aren’t agreeing.  It just flat out stinks to see your children with hurt feelings and big ole crocodile tears…and I can’t fix things this time.   When your child is giving 110% and it’s just not good enough…how do you give them the pep talk they need to press on? 

I’m not going into the specifics right now (i may later on) because the situation involves one of my children and we all know what happened last time I opened my big mouth on here.  Maybe one day, M will understand why I need to blog about these things.  But for now…it must be our little secret.

K

Responses

  1. I will pray for you.
    JMP

  2. Tough one.

    Sometimes kids need to know their own boundaries. Sometimes, parents need to give the process time. Sometimes, tears are okay.

    Last year, I pushed Boy Wonder, and it turned out that the lessons were great, even though the Lord fixed the total problem for me.

    I don’t know. Tough calls.

  3. That’s a tough one, but I think you have to keep pressing on. I truly believe there is a lesson to be learned out of every situation, even the ones that hurt. And unfortunately, we can’t keep our kids from hurting, no matter how much we want to. I’ll be praying for you!

  4. Sometimes you do what’s best for your child: don’t think of it as giving up. You are removing them from a stressful or dangerous or abusive situation, and as a parent that is your right and duty. We expect too much of our kids sometimes. If you know they have put forth their best effort, give them credit for that, and move on.

  5. If they did their very best that is what matters. I like to remind people that Mr. Edison failed to create the lightbulb over 900 times. When asked how he felt about his failures he said, “I learned 900 ways not to do something, and they all led to the lightbulb.”

    Knowing what we are good at, and not so good at, or that some one else is better than we are at something is ok…it’s part of life…

    And you love your kids, they know that, and at the end of the day…That will count for more than you know (they just won’t admit it for a long long time)…


Leave a Reply

Categories

