Posted by: Kim | January 28, 2008

Pride…

I hesitate to even write about this and it’s ironic because pride is what makes me want to hit delete.  Anyway…I have been fighting this for several weeks now and I am tired.  I need some prayer and I know ya’ll will do it. 

Pride…the word itself not necessiarly negative.  It has several meanings.

  • a feeling of self-respect and personal worth
  • satisfaction with your (or another’s) achievements; “he takes pride in his son’s success”
  • the trait of being spurred on by a dislike of falling below your standards
  • unreasonable and inordinate self-esteem (personified as one of the deadly sins)
  • be proud of; “He prides himself on making it into law school”
  • In Christianity, Pride (also Vanity or arrogance) is the essentially competitive and excessive belief in one’s own abilities that interferes with the individual’s recognition of the grace of God, or the worth which God sees in others; for example: “In his Pride the wicked does not seek Him; in all his thoughts there is no room for God.” (Psalm 10:4) Pride is also one of the 7 deadly sins.(Pride, envy, lust, wrath, sloth, gluttony and greed)

    So, I think you get the picture.  Not always negative but can be very dangerous.  In my eyes, it is entirely ok to take pride in your life and your accomplishments but we must not cross the line. 

    The Bible gives us warning after warning about the results of pride and I sure don’t want to go there.  I don’t want pride to be a negative thing in my life.  I don’t want satan to have the ability to twist something positive in my life into something negative.  So why is it so easy for him to do so?

    When satan worms his way into a situation, he has this way of bending truths and inserting hurt feelings as well as ill feelings toward others.  Let me tell you…I have spent so much time in prayer over this issue over the past several weeks but it keeps coming up over and over again.  I am tired…and I feel like just falling over into a heap on the floor at the feet of Jesus.

    The things in my life that I am proud of I completely give credit to Father God for providing and allowing me to have and/or do.  I only want my life to bring Him praise and I want His light to shine through the things I say and do.  There is no room for “ugly pride”.  When satan starts using this in my life, I only start to doubt myself and who I am and why I even bother to try.  I know this is only satan trying to mess up what God has given me so why is it so easy for him to do?

    Please pray that I will find a way to beat this.  I will continue to lay at the feet of Jesus until I feel strong again.  Does anyone have a suggestion of what I can do to rid my mind of this pride stuff?

    K

    Responses

    1. Pride is something that we all deal with and what a fine line it can be.

      I’m so sorry that you are having a difficult time dealing with things right now. Please call me if you want to talk or meet for lunch!

      Praying for you!

    2. Yes, call me if you need an ear. This doesn’t quite seem like you??? So, what’s up?????
      C

    3. You have been lifted in prayer. If we are all honest, this is something we all suffer with on occasion, thankfully and gratefully we love God too much to stay there!!!

    4. “I feel like just falling over into a heap on the floor at the feet of Jesus.”

      Sounds good to me, girl. Go on and fall if that’s where you’re headed.

      I read in the Purpose Driven Life a quote that has stuck with me…Pride is not thinking less of myself, it’s thinking of myself less.

      Whew. That one usually gets me–artistic people like me get way too instrospective for common good. Just stick a fork in me and call me done…cause I’ve been there!

    5. Girl I know just how you feel. I have been feeling like I just need to lay face down somewhere and cry or pray or both …. maybe we should make time to do this in our small group. I need it too. I seem to suffer alot with self-esteem issues which boils right down to pride as well… I have to pray about those as well and I will pray for you too. I love you Kim and you are a beautiful amazing soul and I am so blessed to know you!


    Leave a Reply

        Categories

