Posted by: Kim | March 28, 2008

My life…update

Whew…what a week this has been.  Let’s see, where should I start???  First of all, I went for another checkup in L’ville and got set up for another surgery THIS COMING TUESDAY…and no, it’s no April Fool’s Day joke.  This is the second step in the reconstruction process…still one more to go after this.  Believe it or not, I was excited the dr wanted to do it so fast.  This girl is ready to get past all this breast cancer mess!!!  So unless something changes, I ask that you be praying as I go into surgery @ 12:15 (11:15 our time) on Tuesday, April 1.  It will be about a 2 1/2 surgery and I should get to come home that night.  The way I see it, this one should be a piece of cake compared to what I have already been through…don’t ya think?

Now…second of all…this morning, I went to see my dr in O’boro.  I have been having some different symptoms and to be quite honest…I have become quite the little hypochondriac.  Anyway…I just love my dr and his staff and when I talked to the nurse at the beginning of the week she said, “Let’s just get you in here and ease your mind.”  You know how sometimes the dr/nurse may try to “blow you off”?  Not my dr/nurse/staff!!!!  They rock!!!!  Anyway…I had a ultrasound (very unpleasant!!!) and exam (double unpleasant!!!) and my mind has been eased somewhat.  I now have to make a decision…more surgery or just wait and see.  It is nothing pressing or life threatening…just something I have to decide.  Whether I like it or not, I am now at a higher risk for ovarian cancer.  Most doctors have firmly told me that even though my risk is higher, it is highly unlikely that I will develop any other type of cancer.  The way I look at it is that is easy for them to say.  They are not standing in my shoes.  It was also very unlikely that I would develop breast cancer at the ripe old age of 33 but I did.  My dr in O’boro COMPLETELY supports me if I decide to have the surgery.  My dr in L’ville wouldn’t but guess what…..I don’t see him anymore so there!!!!

If I have my ovaries removed, I have to think about the almost immediate side effects…ladies, ya’ll know what I’m talking about.  I had a conversation about this with my doc today and he said he wouldn’t hesitate to put me on hormones since I no longer have any breast tissue.   Makes sense don’t you think?  I will be researching this…thoroughly.

So, as you can tell, I have lots to think pray about.  I value your opinions/thoughts/prayers/suggestions and I know ya’ll will support me whatever I decide.  I will keep you posted.

K

Responses

  1. Well, you knew this nurse would have to comment, right? Speaking from experience, I had a complete hysterectomy at 27 and I am on hormone replacement every day. I understand the risk of breast cancer with the hormones, but at this age, I feel like I need them because the hot flashes have been too difficult for me to deal with. Maybe when the kids get a little older, I’ll try to go off of them. That said, being the worrier I am, if I were you I would probably have my ovaries removed, especially if they were causing me trouble. I’m not saying that’s the best answer, and I really hate to see you have to have yet another surgery, but I know you would do fine. And you are right – we’ll support you no matter what you decide. Praying for you and loving you!

  2. I don’t know what kind of problems you are experiencing, but I had an endometrial ablation in November as a first step to keep me from having a hysterectomy, and knock on wood, it has helped thus far. So it might be something you want to check into. Will definitely be praying for you next week.

  3. I’m so glad that they were able to get you in!

    I’ll be praying that you hear God’s voice in this and I’m here supporting you with whatever decision you make.

    I do think that your body needs a rest and if there is no indication of an immediate need, I would spend some time in prayer and recuperation. It’s been a rough year on you!

  4. I had a hysterectomy at the age of 24 and now I am 31. I have been on HRT for this whole time with no problems. My doctor prescribed for the normal hot flahes/lady problem reasons but also because of the risk of osteoporosis and heart disease. I will be thinking of you while you make this decision. It is not easy but you have the best physician of all on your side!!

  5. I don’t like hospitals and I don’t do doctors yet for anything other than birthing babies…they make me nervous. So, I’m probably of very little help. Every time I’m in the hospital, I seem to go from healthy to sick to more sick. It’s a conspiracy as far as I’m concerned. 😀

  6. praying for you now

  7. I’m with Maggie here, and I didn’t even use hospitals for birthing babies! You know, though, whatever you decide and wherever God leads you, we will be here to love, support, and lift you up. In my heart, like Stacey, I also feel that your body might need a good long recuperation before more surgery…but it is totally up to you and again you have an army of women behind you and a God that loves you so much. *Big Hugs* and prayers


Leave a Reply

Categories

