Posted by: Kim | March 31, 2008

Christian Waffles…and the rest of the story

We got home from Wendy’s last night and all got ready for bed.  I usually lie down beside Grace to help her fall asleep and did so last night.  It was right around 9 pm and she was almost asleep.  All of a sudden she rolled over and this is the conversation that followed…

G:  Mom, can we talk about me becoming a Christian?

Me:  Of course we can…what do you want to talk about? (we have had several conversations over the past 6 mths or so and I could feel in my spirit that this one was “the one”)

G:  Well, I want to go down front at church and ask Jesus into my heart.

Me:  Sweetheart, I want you to really understand what it mean to be a Christian.  It isn’t something you should do just because your friends have done it.  You really need to understand and know in your heart that this is the right time.

G:  Mom, I understand…I really understand.  I know God sent Jesus to die on the cross for our sins so that we can live.  I just love Jesus sooo much mom.

Me:  You don’t have to wait until church to ask Jesus into your heart.  You can say a prayer and do it right now if you want.

G:  Oh mom, I want to do that.

Me:  Ok, why don’t you go ahead a pray…

G:  (sitting up in her bed with her head bowed, eyes closed and hands together) Dear Lord, I know you know how much I love you but I’m gonna tell you anyway.  I love you a million, gazillion, trazillion…I even love you more than my mom and dad.  I really believe that you sent your only son, Jesus, to die on the cross for my sins and I want Jesus to come live in my heart.  Lord, this is the best day of my life.  I love you.  AMEN.

Me:  AMEN.

G:  Mom, I love you.  Can I go tell Dad?

Me:  Of course, you can go tell Dad.

G:  I am so excited, I could stay up all night.  My heart is pumping a lot!!!  You know how some people cry tears of joy?  Well, I feel like I could do that.  I need to tell sissy…

So, Grace went to tell her Dad and sissy and of course they were excited.  She also called the children’s minister and then grandparents.  She couldn’t wait to go to school today to tell her teacher and friends.  She also can’t wait to tell Bro. Ray and Bro. Bob. 

I am so overwhelmed with the feelings I have and could sit around a cry tears of joy all day long.  It is moments like this that make it all worth it.  Grace has been well on her way to this decision for some time now and I just love how God gives us the sense from the Holy Spirit that the time is right.  He was right there in the bedroom with us last night…there is no doubt in my mind.  Praise His Holy Name!!!! 

This morning after Grace got up, I asked her what she wanted for b’fast.  Her reply was, “Well, I believe I want some Christian Waffles.”  Man, I just love that little girl!!!

Blessings to all!!!

K

Responses

  1. She is such a sweetheart and what a wonderful night for you guys!

    Love you!

  2. Amen and amen…K is so close. We have had a couple of talks and I praise God that the Holy Spirit is at work in her life!!

  3. Yahoo—-what a party was happening in heaven last night!!!!

  4. if that doesn’t make you want to cry tears of joy I don’t know what would! Love you!

  5. AWESOME!!!!!!!!

  6. I just love her!!! Syd is getting close too, I believe. She keeps saying she wants to ask Jesus into her heart when she’s six, which will be
    Friday. Pray for her. Can’t wait to give you and your little one a great big hug!

  7. Amen!

  8. WOW!!!!!!!! PRAISE GOD ALMIGHTY

    GO AHEAD AND CRY THOSE TEARS OF JOY.

  9. I LOVE CHRISTIAN WAFFLES!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

