Posted by: Kim | April 22, 2008

Friday night bowling

This past Friday was G’s 8th b-day and she had 3 girls over for a slumber party.  We decided to take them to O’boro bowling for a couple of hours since is was raining and they couldn’t go outside.  Two little incidents tookplace; one funny and one not so funny.  Let’s see, which do I start with????  I think the not so funny…that way I can end with a smile.

So, there we were in the bowling ally minding our own business.  Four 8 year olds, Madison, Jeff and myself.  In comes four boys…I’m guessing around 14/15 years old.  Very clean cut boys…nicely dressed and by all appearance seemed to be good boys.  They had the unlucky privilege of being placed in the lane right next to ours.  After a while, I noticed that the girls were walking behind our lane and looking at the boys computer screen that keeps score.  I looked over and noticed that these “good boys”  had put very obscene names for themselves on their screen.  All of the little girls were reading those names and my mother bear instinct kicked in.  I looked at Jeff and said…”That’s it, I’m going over there.”  He knew better than to try to stop me and just sat back at watched me work.  I marched over to those boys…right up in the middle of them and said this…

Me:  Listen guys…I have a group of 8 year old girls over here who are reading those NAMES you have put on the computer screen.

Them:  Uhhh…Uhhh…Uhhh…we will change them…uhhh, sorry.

They immediately scrambled to change the names and I am fairly certain I scared the daylights out of them.  I just said thank you and calmly walked back over to our lane.  Jeff was just sitting there smiling and the girls were amazed.  Madison even said, “Way to go mom.”  I felt so victorious.  You just don’t mess with a mom people.  I still believe those boys were good boys or they wouldn’t have offered to change the names.  I am also fairly certain that if some of their parents had been there (and I’m not saying it wasn’t ok for a group of 15 year old boys to be at the bowling alley for a couple hours by themselves), they would have had their real names on that screen.  People, join with me in holding each other’s children accountable.  If it were my child, I would want one of you to confront them about their behavior. 

Now…onto the funny incident.  I, of course, could not bowl.  I think my dr. would have a cow.  Jeff, however, decided to join in the fun.  His first time up…he rolls the ball with such smooth form with the right leg behind him and lo and behold, he hurts his back!!!  Not to be discouraged, he tries a second time.  Not quite as smooth but makes it through and comes back to seat holding his back.  I…being the good wife I am…was very consoling and not laughing at all….NOT.  I couldn’t help but roll my eyes and chuckle.  Here is where it gets really good.  His next time up…he gathers his composure and takes off.  I’m not for sure, but I believe he tried to use his left hand thinking it would releive the pain on the side he hurt.  Anyway…he gets to the line where you let go of the ball and WHAM!!!!!  HE FALLS DOWN!!!!  That’s right…my big, rough and tough man fell down at the bowling alley in front of four 8 year olds, his 10 year old, his wife and everyone else there.  I could not contain myself!!!!  I am still laughing about it.  If you ask him, he will probably tell you he slipped on the bottom of his jeans because that’s what he tried to tell me.  Needless to say, his bowling was over for the night.  I sure do thank him for the wonderful memory!!!!  Sorry sweetie if you are reading this but it was too good not to share. 

K

Responses

  1. Way to go MOM!!!! I thought I was the only one.

    And…hub…oh…that was a good story! HA!

  2. We were in Owensboro Thursday night at a ballgame. There was playground equipment near the field and I let the kids play on it for a while. I was watching from the bleachers and some older kids came up and started “playing” too. At one point, I glanced over and Lucas was trying to get to the top of the slide and two of the boys were at the top and wouldn’t let him on. My momma bear instinct kicked in and I marched over there and asked Lucas if there was a problem. He said, “These big boys won’t let me slide.” I asked them if they were so scared of boys their own age that they had to pick on little three year olds. I was so mad! But they moved aside and let him go. I kept my eyes on them for a while!

  3. hahaha….is this one of those stories we can’t talk about? i’m gonna have a hard time not inviting him to go bowling sometime!!!

  4. Way to go MOM!!! That’s too funny about hubbie!

  5. A little bratty girl was pushing Zoe and not letting her play at McD’s Playland in M-ville back when I was pregnant and her parents or whoever was with her didn’t say a thing to her. I was fuming!!
    I told that little girl to move over and let Zoe play right now! It worked! It’s amazing how our mother bear instincts kick in–really surprised me actually!

    Great stories–what a night eh? Is Jeff still sore? 🙂

  6. Barry said one of the bigger boys on Carson’s t-ball team picked on him all night long at practice one night until he couldn’t take it anymore. He said he had to go over there and tell him to pick on someone his own size (C is the smallest one on the team).

    Too funny about hub! Sounds like something I would do.

  7. I am not a mom yet but can definitely imagine doing the same thing in your case–great job!

    My entire in-laws side of the family are bowlers! Dad and hubby are the best at the game but mom and my sil are pretty decent too. We all went bowling this past Christmas, right before our wedding and I was just rollin at my score–a poor fifties as compared to lower and upper hundreds! At one point, the ball actually rolled back towards me along the sidelines. IT WAS HILARIOUS!

    Thanks for sharing and nice to “meet” you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

