Posted by: Kim | June 21, 2008

This week is over already???

UPDATE…As one slightly bitter person commented, I failed to tell the “whole story” so to speak.  The reason for the detour was because traffic was backed up on the interstate and we had been going at a snail’s pace for about an hour.  HOWEVER… we only had 1.9 miles left before we would have gotten off the busy interstate anyway and the men just couldn’t wait.  Just so you know, Mr. angry commenter, I have the power to delete any and all of your comments whenever I want because THIS IS MY BLOG.  I only allowed your comment this time to show I am a good sport.  In the future just remember…in blog world, the power is all mine…HA, HA, HA, HA.  Have a nice day and come back soon.

 

Ok, so I am a little behind here.  We have been home from vacation for one week and a dear friend was kind enough to notice and let me know she was waiting for an update.  So, I am going to start with a vacation recap…

1.  On the drive to Destin, the men got impatient and decided to reprogram the GPS and take us on a “SHORT CUT”.  Can I just say BIG MISTAKE!?!?!?!  That stinkin’ little electronic device actually took us to a dirt road…yep…that’s right a dirt road.  I nearly lost what little sanity I had left people.  I am not kidding when I say we zig zagged our way all the way through southern Alabama.  What should have been a 11 hour trip to the beach turned into 13 hours and I was not a happy camper.  We all laugh about it now but I was stressed to the max.  You don’t mess with me when I am en route to the beach…that is serious business.  Just for the record…we returned my way and made it home in 11 hours…SO THERE!!!

2.  The house we rented was FABULOUS!!!!  The only complaint I had was that we weren’t right on the beach.  It was about a block and a half walk to the beach but other than that, the house was great.  Very spacious and clean.  4 bedrooms and 3 baths.  TV in each bedroom.  Very nice indeed.

3.  Monday night has a story all in itself.  It involves shopping, a dryer repairman and 4 very scared kids.  It honestly is too much to get into right now, so ask me about it in person if your curiousity is getting the best of you.   For those of you who can’t see me in person, then maybe one day soon I will blog about the whole experience.

4.  Tuesday we had major excitement during our time at the beach.  A 2-3 foot shark…yes, shark…decided to get way too close for comfort.  Jeff was in the water playing with Grace.  Madison was in the water playing with the Brown boys and all of a sudden the people next to us started yelling….SHARK, SHARK, SHARK.  By the time we saw the thing, it was a couple feet or so from Jeff and Grace.  He raised her up out of the water and the shark made a sharp turn and headed straight for the other kids.  It was gone about as fast as it showed up but scared the daylights out of all of us…especially the kids.  Believe it or not, after an hour or so, they did get back in the water but was very cautious.  I have been going to FL for 30 years and this is the first time I have seen a shark.  I know they are out there as well as many other creatures but I would rather not have to see them…know what I mean??

4.  Wednesday we had a little more excitement.  There were little jellyfish all over the place and the kids kept catching them in a net and bringing them up on the beach and burrying them.  Not sure if they were supposed to do that or not but we let them. 

5.  Thursday, we drove up to Panama City to go to Shell Island.  I was NOT impressed at all.  First of all, you have to pay almost $20 for an adult to ride the ferry over to the island.  If you rent snorkeling equipment, it is more.  Once you get to the island, you have what seems like a mile hike through the thick sand in order to get to the gulf side of the island.  I was expecting to see shells everywhere or at least be able to wade out into the water and find some…boy was I wrong.  We did find several small sand dollars but that was really about it.  We made the most of it and had fun with the snorkeling but I definitely wouldn’t do it again or recommend it to anyone else.  So, if you or someone you know is planning to visit this place, maybe you should reconsider.  You are also supposed to be able to swim with the dolphins (for an additional price, which we didn’t pay) and see them all over the place.  WE DIDN’T SEE ANY and that’s all I’m saying about that.

6.  Friday, our last day, was spent at the beach and ended with a wonderful meal at Pompano Joe’s right on the beach.  Wonderful atmosphere, wonderful food and wonderful service.  You must go there if you ever get the chance.  We had 9 people in our party and only had to wait about 20 minutes on a Friday evening. 

7.  A couple of other good places to eat for breakfast (they serve lunch and dinner too) is Another Broken Egg (we went there twice…yummy!!!) and The Donut Hole.  Both very good but our fav was Another Broken Egg…small place but wonderful everything.

So, that was a quick summary of our week in Destin.  I don’t know about you but it makes me want to go again.  I just love the beach…just laying back and as Kim B. said “listening to God’s music”…it just doesn’t get any better than that people.

I’ll check in with you all in a few days…until then…

Blessings – K

Responses

  1. Yeah, well, you know we are all dying to know about #2 now…so start drafting that baby! (Glad to know about Shell Island…sounds like something I’d be tempted to try!)

  2. Yep, you better get ready to blog about #3 or you’re gonna be telling the story too many times to count! Glad you had a great time – but, seriously, we want to know so start talking! 🙂

  3. Sounds awesome! Makes me wanna go now…..love The Donut Hole & Pompano Joes!

  4. Glad you had a great vacation. I love hearing about different places to eat, especially the ones that are good….but that is the foodie coming out in me. And yes, you need to share #3. Curiousity killed the cat, you know?

  5. Excuse me…..you left out (inadvertantly, I’m sure) the part about WHY we detoured. We had already been stuck in interstate traffic for an hour and who knows for how much longer. So……in the future, let’s tell all of the story!!!!!

  6. I feel so sorry for Jeff and Kenny. I know that the detour was not a very plesant drive.

  7. Just couldn’t put this comment on your most recent post. BUT……sista, you’ve been tagged. Check out my blog.
    Cj


Leave a Reply

Categories

