Posted by: Kim | July 30, 2008

Catching up…

I know, I know…it’s been too long since my last post.  I have just been totally unbloggy lately.  I have been reading all of yours but just neglecting my own.  So…what has been going on with me lately? 

I think the first thing I must address it the prior prayer request I posted here.  I am sorry to report that Keith passed away on Friday the 12th.  Even though it wasn’t in God’s will for Keith’s life to continue on this earth, I do believe that our prayers has brought peace and comfort to this hurting family.  Please continue to lift them up as they try to move on.  Also remember Tony as he continues to heal physically and emotionally.

I am so excited about going to the LPL conference this weekend.  We have a great group of women from church going and I know it is going to be a wonderful weekend. 

I don’t talk about my ordeal with breast cancer much anymore…I still can’t even really believe it happened.  I still have another minor procedure to do the end of August and hopefully that will be all of it.  If this is your first time visiting my blog, go back into my archives and begin reading in Sept. of last year.  If you have any questions or if you or someone you know needs prayer covering for a similar situation, please leave me a comment and I promise I will pray.

The main thing going on with me right now is back trouble again.  Two years ago, I had back surgery for a bulging disk and did fairly well with it…until now.  I had a MRI a couple weeks ago and once again, I have a bulging disk…very same place (L5-S1).  So far we have been treating it with pain meds (yuck), muscle relaxers and anti-inflammatory drugs.  I have also been going to physical therapy which doesn’t seem to be helping at this point (plus it costs me $20 each time plus the cost of gas to get there).  I talked to the nurse today at the dr’s office (love her) and let her know that I am still in some major pain.  She talked to the dr. and called me back and the next plan of action is to try the epidural injections (and continue with meds and therapy).  I have heard mixed results about the injections but am willing to give it a try I believe.  If there is anyone out there who has experience with the shots, let me know about your experience. 

This is the last week before the girls start back to school.  Grace will be in the 3rd grade and Madison will be going into the 6th.  Time sure does fly.

Blessings – K

Responses

  1. very same spot for me. with the physical therapy, there wasn’t anything i couldn’t do at home by myself, so i quit going and kept doing the exercises. it took almost 7 weeks to get to a point of feeling i could move without major pain. one doctor told me to continue the exercises after the pain goes away to continue to strengthen the back. i had to quit the anti-inflammatory and replace it with a stomach pill (prevacid) because i had taken so many prednisone packs and anti-imflammatories. i feel for you friend. i have still opted to not do the injections at this point, but know people that say they are GREAT. i hope you have some relief soon.

  2. Glad to see you back, but sorry about your back pain. Praying you’ll find some relief soon.

  3. I’ll be praying for you back pain! And I was so sorry to hear about Keith…..I will lift his family up in prayer.

  4. I know it’s scary thinking about the epidurals, but my dad has had them and it really seems to help. I do them for patients all the time actually, and most people do get relief. Let me know if you have any questions!


Leave a Reply

Categories

