Posted by: Kim | December 18, 2010

Just thinking outloud (well, not really)

Kind of a silly title for a blog post but I really don’t have anything better at the moment.  It has been forever since I have put anything on here.  There are really no particular reasons other than 1) I just haven’t taken the time to do it, and 2) there is this little thing called facebook that takes up WAY too much of my time.  For some strange reason, I decided to check out my “stats” on here and it totally cracks me up that just about every day at least one person checks out my blog.  My most popular post is “Are you smarter than a 5th grade Christian?”  It gets about one view a day…..that totally makes me laugh.

Not really sure I want to continue with this blog thing.  I just don’t feel like I have anything of great importance to say.  I think I need some direction…some inspiration…a reason.  Facebook just isn’t cutting it for me but I will probably keep up with that because it has become (for some strange reason) a major source of communication.  How many times have you heard someone (or yourself) say, “Send me a message on facebook.”  People don’t even email much anymore…even though if you send a message on facebook, it is essentially an email, right?  I do enjoy being able to post and/or respond to prayer requests and such on there but do people really want to know what I am eating for supper or what my grocery list is or what is on my to do list for the day?  Are we “up in each other’s business” a tab bit too much?  And what about the games and such on there…thankfully I haven’t gotten into that.  A couple of Easter seasons ago, I touched the surface of collecting some kind of eggs and it just about drove me nuts!!! 

What about twitter?  I do have a twitter account but thankfully haven’t really gotten into it.  I just don’t understand the difference between twitter and facebook.  Is one better than the other?  Do we really have time to do twitter and facebook updates throughout the day?  I would be ashamed to know how much time I spend on facebook every day getting “caught” up on all the status updates of my 420 friends, many of whom I don’t even know. 

What is the point of this post?  I have no idea…just sharing some thoughts with all ONE of you!!!

K

Responses

  1. Funny, I posted a blog entry today for the first time in forever. Just wanting to ramble, I suppose.

    I don’t know what people want to know or not know on facebook. And I don’t care if people are “too much in my business” if that involves what I bought at the store. LOL

    I do think that the Lord led me to facebook to connect with people I actually see and know and can know better.

    Unfortunately, a lot of people “stalk” facebook, but never speak, respond, or post, so you really don’t know much more about their lives than if you weren’t “connected”…much like church.

    I guess I think if I’m okay about posting “stuff” then others may, too…and we need each other.

    It is more convenient than the phone for me, and for blogging, which takes a lot of jumping around. But, for little follow up wonderings, I do like blogging…a place to sift and sort and express.

    Room for both, but both have definitely morphed for me as well. I know how to pray for some people just based on how they are, or are not, posting. You get to know people’s rhythms, and sense when they are “out of sych”.

    Everything has it’s limits, and we have to know ours for balance. I’d rather read facebook and catch up on happenings and friends than watch the news all day, so I suppose there is a pick and choose element to life….how you’ll spend your “down time”.

    Great to “talk through”.

    Good food for thought. And I always loved your posts…good to get to know you in different ways of expression.

    “Maggie”


Leave a Reply

Categories

